Virender Sehwag

National Sports Awards 2020: Virender Sehwag and Sardar Singh sign up for assortment committee

Sehwag celebrating JanmashtamiYouTube

2011 Planet Cup-profitable previous Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag, previous hockey midfielder Sardar Singh, 2016 Rio Paralympics silver medallist Deepa Malik are among the the names that make up the range committee for the National Athletics Awards this calendar year, the Sports activities Ministry introduced on Friday.

The committee, to be chaired by retired Supreme Courtroom decide Mukundakam Sharma, also contains Arjuna Award-winning former table tennis player Monalisa Baruah and former boxer Venkatesh Devarajan, who received the Arjuna Award in 1995.

Variety committee to determine awardees

The committee will be tasked with selecting awardees for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Dronacharya Awards, Arjuna Awards, Dhyan Chand Awards, Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar Award and Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy for the yr 2020.

Officials from the Athletics Ministry on the committee include things like Sports activities Authority of India (SAI) Director Basic Sandip Pradhan, Joint Secretary (Sports Progress) LS Singh and Focus on Olympic Podium Scheme (TOPS) CEO Commander Rajesh Rajagopalan.

MS Dhoni, Virender Sehwag, Sourav Ganguly


The mediapersons on the committee are athletics commentator Manish Batavia and journalists Alok Sinha and Neeru Bhatia.

Two added members, who have been Dronacharya Awardees, may be invited by the chairperson while taking into consideration the nomination for Dronacharya Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *